Print this page

Report: Flora London Marathon

Apr 26, 2009

Posted by: Wrinty

On a glorious Spring Day, 18 Avon Valley Runners where among the 35 thousand plus runners competing in this years London Marathon, the last to be sponsored by Flora!

The overall race winner, was Samuel Wanjiru from Kenya in 2:05:10, 2nd Tsegay Kebede (ETH) 2:05:20 and 3rd Jaouad Gharib (MAR) 2:05:27

In the Women's race Irena Mikitenko from Germany was victorious for the second year in succession in a time of 2:22:11. Britain's Mara Yamauchi had a great race to finish 2nd in 2:23:12, with Lilya Shobukova (RUS) taking 3rd in 2:24:24

In the Mens Wheel Chair race Kurt Fearnley (AUS) took the gold with David Weir (GBR) 2nd, both times were 1:28:57 In the Women's Amanda McGrory (USA) was first across the line in 1:50:39

For Avon Valley Runners, Ian Mapperson had a terrific run to complete the course in 2:57:48, Simon Ringham and Martin Meredith also achieved a PBs, with Simon in 3:20:56 and Martin 3:24:02

For AVR Ladies Jo Mumford was first home in 3:25:06, Tina Vivian ensured herself a place for next year with a "Good for Age" qualifying time of 3:55:41, Jo's time was also a GFA qulaifying time.

Andy Grist and Julia Drewitt were both running their first Marathons, Andy completed the course in a very respectable 3:19:12 and Julia, savouring every moment after waiting 5 years to get a place, ran together with Sue Cook in 4:44:56

Ali Atkinson, 26th April 2009