Print this page

Report: Stan Farr 5K

Dec 26, 2009

Posted by: Wrinty

Forty one members of Avon Valley Runners turned out for the Stan Farr 5K, marking the 50th running of the Boxing Day race started by the club's founder back in 1960 during his days at Trowbridge & District Athletics Club. Having abandoned the original route along the West Ashton Road some 10-years ago due to increased traffic, this years race started in Whaddon lane heading down onto the towpath of the Kennet & Avon Canal before climbing back up Hill Street back to the finish in Hilperton.

The race saw a close three-way tustle with last years winner, Michael Towler making his move with just 200m to go to retain his title in 18-minutes 23-seconds. With 2006 winner, Michael Bryant three seconds adrift and third placed Jim Hart a further three seconds back also. Coming home in fourth place Stuart MacGregor claimed the MV50 title and in 5th place, Richard Morgetroyd claimed the MV40 title. Having last run the Boxing Day Race in 1982 Gordon Russell celebrated by finishing as 1st MV60.

For the ladies Melanie Nichols claimed victory running 22:23 with Ali Atkinson & Tina Giles close behind in second & third places. Sue Macgregor claimed the FV50 title and Fiona Newman the FV40.